Bungy Jumping in New Zealand

304270_10150780952040447_778199759_n

I’ve never been a fan of big drops. It hurts my stomach! Even when in a car going over a steep bump I get butterflies. So I never thought I would go bungy jumping.

When we arrived at Agroventures and I saw the option to bungy jump I knew this was a once in a lifetime opportunity and I would regret it if I didn’t do it. Then I found out you could even get tied to a friend and jump together. I knew this was the only way I would do it so I convinced my friend Mandie to jump with me. Without thinking to much about it we paid for the jump knowing if we paid we couldn’t back out. We watched as a few people in front of us jumped and it was terrifying. They looked like rag dolls as they bounced all around.

Our turn was finally up. We got into the crane that brought lifted us into the sky. I watched as we were rising in the air but soon had to close my eyes. I was doing my best to stay calm, but my heart was racing.

The final thud of the crane getting to it’s max height jolted me, but I was relatively calm for what was about to happen. Mandy and I had been strapped together by the ankles and were told to hold on to each other. We both had our eyes closed hugging each other tight as the guide lead us on to the edge.305235_10150780951970447_542215154_n I asked him what the best way to jump is and how he gets people who are scared to jump. He said to keep our eyes closed imagine you’re in your living room and just tip over.

Whether or not Mandy was ready that’s what I did. And off we fell. It felt like a HUGE drop. I can’t even remember if I had butterflies or not. We bounced what seemed like 100 times. Each bounce I felt the blood rushing to my eyes to the point that they felt like they were going to pop out. Finally we slowed down and they lowered us to the ground.

People always ask if bungy jumping is painful and I would say yes. But not because it jerks you around but because of all the blood in your head. I swear I had a little panic attack anytime I was upside down for a good year after that.

Would I do it again? Hell yea! I want to do a water touch next time.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve done?

2 thoughts on “Bungy Jumping in New Zealand

Leave a Reply

