TSA Precheck

8390430118_35bb3ce0dd_z

I’ve been debating for awhile now if I should go through the steps to get a known traveler number(KTN) in order to be a part of TSA Precheck. For those of you who don’t know what that is, if you’re flying from the US these airports participate in TSA Precheck. You get to go through a much shorter/faster security line. You don’t have to take off your shoes and you go through the old school scanners instead of the big new ones. Well I finally did it. I was worried the process would be difficult and frustrating, but it was really easy!

First you pre-enroll and for some reason I had a hard time finding the link so I’ve provided it here for you. You answer all the questions and then schedule a time to drop in one of their 300 locations to finish the screening process.

After I finished that I went to my appointment. I had prepared for an experience similar to going through security or going to the DMV. Cold workers who didn’t care about customer service. I was completely wrong! The location I went to was extremely nice and got me in on time. It took a total of 10 minuets to finish everything up and pay. There is a $85.00 fee per person which is a little hefty but I figure it will be worth it.

Once finished they hand you a receipt with a website to check your status. I did all of this last Wednesday and today(Monday) I went to check the statues and I had been approved and given my KTN! I was shocked since they had told me it can take up to 30 days.

I have to say the process was extremely easy. I have several flights coming up and I will let you know if it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

